This is me reinventing myself, my life, my future. Last Oct (2011) a was given a right good kick up the backside when I was diagnosed with breast cancer at the age of 39. My mum has had recurring cancer but I always thought I would be at least 10 years older than I am if I was to have poor health. So needless to say financially I was not prepared though I am getting by.

I’ve been faffing around for a few years now as regards career and life in general and I’m seeing this time off work as an opportunity to evaluate my life, my priorities and where I want to be in 12 months time. Though chemotherapy leaves me drained, I still have days like today where I can read, write, think and make plans for my future.

My priority now is to reinvent myself and focus on me and my son instead of thinking about other people and their wants and needs. I count, I am worthy of my time and I am the most important person now along with my son. So here’s to planning, to writing, to doing things that make me feel fabulous and happy inside. Here’s to being more selfish and living the best life I can.

Julie

